Berry Mountain, where it all began

It was several years ago in Berry, about two and a half hours south of Sydney, where we met and performed a small house concert at Jaime's in-laws' place. 

The land known as 'Boobook Mountain Cottage', is nestled among rainforest high up on Berry Mountain. 

 Boobook Mountain Cottage can be  rented on AirBnB

Boobook Mountain Cottage can be rented on AirBnB

One fated evening, after the sun had set and the performance was complete, a Powerful Owl flew over the stage. 

That night Marina wrote a song. "I didn't really know if we'd be coming back so I wrote the song to make sure I could keep the memory alive ... it was such a beautiful place" she says.

The song 'Berry Mountain' didn't make it onto the album but it was recorded live for the 'Love, Nourish, Flourish' CD and you can listen to it here. It starts:

"... up on Berry Mountain side, winding roads meet southern skies and wandering birds of prey in the night".

That wandering bird of prey was the Powerful Owl that became the totem for the debut album.

It all started on Berry Mountain

Well, thankfully we did decide to come back. And this year we aren't just playing a home-coming in Berry, we're also are playing a string of dates all across Australia. But Berry Mountain will always have a special place in our hearts and we are desperately looking forward to returning.  

Early bird tickets are still available until the end of this week, so make sure you head over to the website and book yours. 

See you soon!

 

TOUR DATES

Touring: Jan 2018

  • Wed 3 Jan | Magic Mountain, Merimbula NSW (Tickets)
  • Thu 4 Jan | Berry School of Arts, Berry NSW (Tickets)
  • Fri 5 Jan | Heritage Hotel, Bulli NSW (Tickets)
  • Sun 7 Jan | Mosaic Carriage, Fremantle WA (SOLD OUT)
  • Thu 11 Jan | Broome Convention Centre, Broome WA (Tickets)
  • Tue 16 Jan | Hastings Caves, Parks Tasmania, Geeveston TAS (Tickets)
  • Wed 17 Jan | Frank’s Cider Bar, Franklin TAS (Tickets)
  • Fri 19 Jan | Printers Room, Sebastiaans, Ballarat, VIC (Tickets)
  • Sat 20 Jan | Upwey Skylark Room with 3MDR, Burrinja VIC (Tickets)
  • Sun 21 Jan | Toff In Town, Melbourne VIC (Tickets)
  • Thu 25 Jan | The Mechanics Institute, Nagambie VIC (Tickets)
  • Fri 26 Jan | Star Theatre, Chiltern VIC (Tickets)
Belle Miners